From all of us at Silent Spring Institute, we would like to extend our deepest gratitude to all our friends and supporters for making our Virtual Gala Celebration a tremendous success.

virtual gala celebration

Thanks to your generosity, we raised more than $450,000 for breast cancer prevention. Truly amazing!

If you haven't yet supported the gala, it's not too late to be a partner in our success! Make a donation today and know that your leadership is advancing science that will build a healthier future for us all.

Watch the Event

For those who missed the gala, you can watch a recording, including musical performances and a lively roundtable conversation on building a stronger public health system to protect the next generation from the environmental causes of breast cancer.


Event Details 

Date: Thursday, October 8, 2020
Time: 6:00 to 7:00 p.m. (EDT)
Location: The comfort of your own home! 

Hosted By

Jim Braude and Margery EaganJim Braude and Margery Eagan co-host Boston Public Radio, weekdays 11 a.m. to 2 p.m. on 89.7 FM GBH. The dynamic duo is known for their smart local conversations with leaders and thinkers shaping the City of Boston.

Roundtable Discussion With

Julia BrodyJulia Brody, PhD, is executive director and senior scientist at Silent Spring Institute. She is a nationally recognized expert on environmental chemicals and breast cancer, and a leader in community-engaged research. Dr. Brody’s current research focuses on reporting back to participants in environmental health studies to tell them about their chemical exposures. Her work is founded on the belief that participants have a right to know their results so they can take action to protect their health and their communities.

Rachel Morello-FroschRachel Morello-Frosch, PhDis an environmental health scientist at the School of Public Health at UC Berkeley. Her research examines the social determinants of environmental health among diverse communities with a focus on inequality, psychosocial stress, and how these factors interact with environmental chemical exposures to produce health inequalities. She studies environmental justice in the context of ambient air pollution, drinking water quality, climate change as well as prenatal exposures to environmental chemicals and effects on development.

Michelle WilliamsMichelle A. Williams, ScD, is Dean of the Faculty, Harvard T.H. Chan School of Public Health, and Angelopoulos Professor in Public Health and International Development, a joint faculty appointment at the Harvard Chan School and Harvard Kennedy School. Her scientific work places special emphasis in the areas of reproductive, perinatal, pediatric, and molecular epidemiology. Dean Williams has a master’s in civil engineering from Tufts University and master’s and doctoral degrees in epidemiology from the Harvard Chan School.


Rachel Carson Advocacy AwardDr. Rachel Morello-Frosch
Recipient of 2020’s Rachel Carson
Advocacy Award

Special Guest

Lisa LoebLisa Loeb is a Grammy Award-winning singer songwriter and philanthropist whose career rocketed with the 1994 hit song “Stay (I Missed You),” the first song to hit No. 1 by an unsigned artist. She’s released 15 albums, including five children's albums, and composes the original songs for the Emmy-nominated “If You Give a Mouse a Cookie” series. Lisa founded The Camp Lisa Foundation, which sends underserved kids to summer camp. 

Performances By

Deb Talan

Deb Talan has been writing songs since she was 14. Over the course of her career, she performed in Boston coffee houses, formed The Weepies band, toured the world, produced five records, and raised three boys. She lives in Iowa City.

Catie CurtisCatie Curtis, called a “folk rock goddess” by the New Yorker, toured for over 25 years. She has played Lilith Fair, Carnegie Hall, concert halls, folk clubs, festivals, and the (Obama) White House!

Thank you to our generous sponsors

Our Virtual Gala Celebration would not have been possible without the generosity of businesses and community leaders who are committed to our mission. A special thank you to the following sponsors:

Individual Sponsors

Kristine Arena
Elissa Arons & Stuart Solomon
Lawrence Bailis* & Susan Shevitz
Jill & Michael Balmuth
Cynthia Barakatt & Richard Bizzozero
Ed & Jacquelyne Barakatt
Pamela & Robert Beck
Joan & Steve Belkin
Shelley Bengis & Bob Epstein
John Boronow & Adrienne Kols
Julia and Dan Brody
Maura & Paul Copeland
Sarah* & Stuart DeVan
Ellen & Richard Calmas
Roberta & Irwin Chafetz
Judith Chasin
Stefan Cohen
Cathy & Harvey Cotton
Charlotte Curry
Lois Dodson
Helen & David Drinan
The Dunagan Foundation
Lynn & David Eikenberry
John* & Lisa Erban
Sherri Ades Falchuk & Kenneth R. Falchuk
Andrea Ferrara
Carolyn Fine Friedman
Kathie Florsheim
Joan Gardner
Nancy Gertz
Green Family
Bruce & Rechelle Gordon
Jen* & Frank Gorke
Polly Hoppin & Robert Thomas, Jr.
Amy & Joel Janovsky
Margaret Kripke*
Julia Matthews & David Bellinger*
Georgia McGaughey* & Anthony Nicholls
Abbie & Fred Meyer
Jeanne Mockard* & Valerie Webdell
Roberta Pasternack
Robin & Bruce Polishook
Cathie Ragovin* & Derek Polonsky
Ellen & Adam Rizika
Lisa Goodwin Robbins* & Andrew Robbins
Mary Ann Rodrigue
Marilyn & Jay Sarles
Rachel Sarvey & Catie Curtis
Linda & Harold Schwartz
Caryl & Gary Shaw
Amanda & Lou Shipley
Cindy Shulak-Rome* & Dan Rome
Patti Stoll* & Michael Gladstone
Deanna & Sidney Wolk

*Silent Spring Institute Board of Directors
Silent Spring Institute Leadership Council

Corporate Sponsors

Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts
Eastern Bank Charitable Foundation
Estelle Disch | Phototransformations
Massachusetts Breast Cancer Coalition
Multipure International
Timber Creek Capital Management
TJX Companies, Inc.
The Village Bank